PML-N steps back over 13 NA, 22 provincial seats adjustment with IPP

LAHORE – In a major political development ahead of the 2024 general elections, the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) and Istehkam-e-Pakistan Party (IPP) failed to navigate seat adjustment.
Acknowledging challenges in the practical implementation of the proposed list, PML-N has graciously excused itself from 13 national and 22 provincial assembly seats.

A tentative agreement has now been reached for seat adjustments, with a signal towards accommodating PML-N in 7 to 9 National Assembly seats and 11 to 14 Provincial Assembly seats.

Firdous Ashiq Awan, Humayun Akhtar, Farukh Habib, and Nouraiz Shakoor have been outrightly rejected seat adjustments. Meanwhile, Jahangir Tareen has been offered NA-149 in Multan instead of Lodhran, Aleem Khan is proposed for NA-117 in Lahore, and Aon Chaudhry is extended an adjustment offer for NA-128 in Lahore.
Nauman Langrial will be adjusted in Sahiwal, Engineer Gul Asghar in Khushab, Aamir Kiyani in Islamabad, and Ghulam Sarwar Khan will be adjusted in Pindi.
The outcome follows intense discussions between the established committees of both Istehkam-e-Pakistan Party and PML-N. The final decision sees PML-N accepting the proposed seat adjustment list put forth by Istehkam-e-Pakistan Party, after obtaining the approval of Nawaz Sharif, the party supremo.

It is imperative to note that negotiations regarding seat adjustments between Istehkam-e-Pakistan Party and PML-N have undergone multiple rounds.
Yesterday, PML-N communicated its challenges in implementing the proposed list, leading to further discussions. The finalized decision reflected a collaborative effort to ensure a strategic seat adjustment ahead of the upcoming elections.
Looking forward, Istehkam-e-Pakistan Party is gearing up for a formal launch of its election manifesto on January 15 or 16, and will officially kickoff its nationwide electoral campaign.