No more lifetime disqualification for Pakistani lawmakers as SC announces landmark verdict

Supreme Court of Pakistan has announced its much-awaited decision, ending lifetime disqualification under Article 62(1)(f).
Chief Justice Qazi Faez Isa led larger bench announced the reserved verdict. The decision grabbed attention as it impact the elgibility of multiple political leaders including Nawaz Sharif and Jahangir Tareen for the upcoming general elections.

The decision was passed by majority of 6:1 as Justice Yahya Afridi dissented from majority judgment.

The lifetime disqualification verdict was related to Article 62(1)(f) of Pakistani Constitution, that requires members of parliament to be honest and righteous. This is the same provision that led to the disqualification of former Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif in the Panama Papers case and Istehkam-i-Pakistan leader Jahangir Tareen.
Lifetime disqualification of Pakistani politicians
With the recent announcement, both leaders Nawaz Sharif and Mr Tareen will be able to participate in polls.
CJP Isa emphasized the need to clarify whether the disqualification should be for a lifetime or for a period of five years, saying it seems to depend on individual interpretation rather than being explicitly stated in the Constitution.

The Chief Justice further stressed significance of clear interpretation of the law. The court proceedings were transparent, with live broadcasts on the Supreme Court’s YouTube channel, allowing the public to access and observe the legal process.
This is a developing story, and will be updated later…