Lahore Race Club wraps up New Year Cup Classic with thrills and triumphs

Pakistan Observer Chairman and CEO Mr. Faisal Zahid Malik is presenting trophy to winner of Seventh race at Lahore Race Club. Club Secretary Sheikh ShahzadAkhtar, Samson Horse Owner Wajid Khan Baba, Trainer Sohail Aziz, Jockey Bilal Ahmed and others are also present there.
Mr. Faisal Zahid Malik, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of Pakistan Observer, presented the award to the triumphant participant of the 7th race of the Makhdumzada Syed Hassan Mahmud New Year Cup Classic at Lahore Race Club on Sunday.

This race marked the commencement of the racing calendar for the year, showcasing the exhilarating competition at Lahore Race Club.
Samson, the standout winner of the seventh race, surpassed a field of eight skilled competitors, including Notorious One, Leisure Trip, Galactica, Khokhar One, Kuwait Edition, J-K, MACS King, and Cheer Leader. The event was graced by the presence of Mr. Faisal Zahid Malik.
The Makhdumzada Syed Hassan Mahmud New Year Cup, sponsored by JDW Group [JDW Sugar Mills LTD.], added an extra layer of significance to the occasion.

Mr. Faisal Zahid Malik conveyed his congratulations while presenting the trophy to the winning horse, owned by Wajid Khan Baba, trained by Sohail Aziz, and skillfully ridden by jockey Bilal Ahmed.
The event saw the attendance of key figures, including Sheikh Shahzad Akhtar, the club secretary, Sohail Aziz, the trainer, and enthusiastic fans and supporters of Samson. Makhdoom Syed Ahmed Mahmud, the chairman of Lahore Race Club,
A total of nine thrilling races unfolded at the Lahore Race Club while Makhdoom Syed Ahmed Mahmud, the chairman of Lahore Race Club and other officials including Steward Mehmood Rafi witnessed the races.

The New Year Cup Classic featured 13 colts and fillies representing esteemed thoroughbred bloodlines, boasting a substantial prize money of Rs2 million—second only to the renowned Pakistan Derby’s purse.
Beyond the seventh race, triumphs in the other eight races were secured by Handsome, Shobika, Husn-e-Baharan, Alpha, Veste One, Dila Awaiz, Hizar, and Desert Crown. The 1,400 meters race, with a winner’s purse of Rs1,300,000, also allocated Rs400,000, Rs200,000, and Rs100,000 for the second, third, and fourth positions, respectively.
The event showcased the vibrant spirit of horse racing enthusiasts, with initial favorites like Bay Colt Bambino and a competitive field contributing to the excitement. The Makhdumzada Syed Hassan Mahmud New Year Cup Classic marked a spectacular inauguration to the racing calendar, promising a season filled with thrilling contests and significant purses.

According to Sheikh Shahzad Akhtar, “Our Chairman, Syed Ahmed Mehmud, has expressed his commendation for the club and its dedicated efforts in this regard.”
Under the leadership of Chairman Syed Ahmed Mehmud, the club underwent a significant transformation, with a primary focus on modernization. He implemented a computerized system, revolutionizing the club’s operations.
Established in 1924, the Lahore Race Club boasts a rich and captivating history, providing a delightful family experience in the realm of equestrian sports. Nestled in the historically significant city of Lahore, the club offers a serene escape from the city’s bustling business and commercial hub, despite being just minutes away.