ECP revokes registration of 13 political parties for not holding Intra-Party Elections

ISLAMABAD – The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP)  on Friday revoked the registration of 13 political parties that refused to hold intra-party elections.
Among the parties whose registration has been revoked are Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam Pakistan, All Pakistan Minar-e-Pakistan Alliance, All Pakistan Tehreek, Awami Party Pakistan S, Bahawalpur National Awami Party, Sab Ka Pakistan, Pakistan Peace Council Party, Pakistan National Muslim League, Pakistan Peace Party, Pakistan Equality Party, Christian People’s Party, Pakistan National Unity Party, Sunni Tehreek, Nizam Mustafa Party, and Pakistan Muslim League Jinnah.

The ECP made the decision to cancel the registration of the 13 political parties, which refused to hold intra-party elections, stating that multiple notices had been issued regarding intra-party elections to the political parties on the delisting.

The ECP accepted the details of Jamiat Ulema-e-Pakistan’s intra-party elections. The ECP issued electoral symbols to Jamiat Ulema-e-Pakistan and Pakistan Muslim League Jinnah in its decision.
It held in its decision that the mentioned political parties adopted a non-serious attitude after receiving notices.
The ECP had previously withdrawn the electoral symbol ‘bat’ from the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) over what it said that it could not conduct intra-party elections in an unconstitutional manner. The decision of the Election Commission of Pakistan was upheld. Later, the PHC set aside the verdict of the ECP and gave bat symbol to the PTI. The ECP, however, decided to challenge PHC decision before the Supreme Court.